#FOUND: A 61 YEAR OLD #DiegoVoci™ #PAINTING

“DiegoVoci™ was close to my dad and mom, Coop and Patti. I am one of their 6 daughters Gabrielle (Cooprider) Sillas. We were raised and schooled in Germany and met Diego several times while living there.

In September, 2015, I visited Germany and stopped in #Kaiserslautern, #Ramstein AFB, #Landstuhl, #Weilerbach, and Erfenbach where I lived – the last Cooprider home in #Germany.

While in Landstuhl I surprised Jawdat #Naffouj to say “Hello” at his Naffouj Gallery, where many DiegoVoci™ Collectors bought their Diego #artworks. I babysat Jawdat’s children Alia and Jabby when I was younger, so I saw Diego a lot – he even taught me card tricks.

Jawdat said, “I have something special to show you that your dad has never seen.” Jawdat took time to show me what he says is a ‘self-portrait’ by Diego done in #1955.  What do you think?

NAFFOUJ Gallery POST D VOCI RED SIGNATURE Gabi found  Sept 2015

Diego signed the painting in red “D Voci”. Jawdat told me it was one of his very “proud possessions” that he was sharing with me. He sees the oil painting as a very precious belonging and has no plans to let go of it!  Joy (nee Gibson) Naffouj and Jawdat were the representatives who convinced ‘Antonio Diego Voci’ to only sign “Diego”, which he did from 1966 until his death December 10, 1985.

My dad, Coop, has been the DiegoVoci™ Historian since 1973. He wrote the “Antonio Diego Voci” biography for Wikipedia. When collectors from the 70’s contact him now, they mention an 8-page catalog – my dad made that, too(*). About the signatures, dad said in Diego’s earliest years he signed only a red ‘Voci’ often with a line under the red.” – Gabriella (Cooprider) Sillas

Send the DiegoVoci™Project your story. Did you meet Jawdat Naffouj? Siegfried Dahms? Joy Gibson? Christine Khan? Or did you meet Helga and Diego? What did Diego say? And do?

Send it to the DVP e-mail address: diegovociproject@gmail.com  

(*) To see the 8-page Catalog go to Artifact Collectors:  http://www.artifactcollectors.com/diego-history-4330818.html#43392

Dad & Kami posted it in May of 2010 when they started the DiegoVoci™ History Thread!

AC P of W #292 1/30/16

Leave a comment